Every Premier League Golden Boot winner in history as Mohamed Salah hunts down Thierry Henry by winning third award | The Sun

LIVERPOOL star Mohamed Salah claimed a THIRD Premier League Golden Boot award by scoring his 23rd league goal of the season in Sunday's 3-1 final day win over Wolves.

The Egyptian King now has Thierry Henry's record of four Golden Boot wins in his sights.

Henry scooped the award on multiple occasions while banging in the goals for Arsenal during the early noughties, helping the club to two Prem titles along the way.

The Frenchman won the crown with 24 goals in the 2001/02 season, 30 goals in 2003/04, 25 goals in 2004/05 and 27 goals in 2005/06.

Salah meanwhile netted a whopping 32 goals in 2017/18 and 22 goals in 2018/19 before this term's 23-goal effort.

Tottenham talisman Harry Kane is also hunting down Henry's record, having won the Golden Boot on three occasions himself.

Salah however didn't actually win the Golden Boot in Liverpool's 2019/20 title-winning season.

The prize on that occasion went to Leicester's Jamie Vardy after the striker bagged 23 times over the course of the campaign.

On each of the two occasions Henry won the Premier League with the Gunners (2001/02 and 2003/04), he finished the campaign as the top scorer.

Premier League 2022/23

Everything you need to know about the Premier League

Premier League top scorers 2022/23: Who is leading the Golden Boot race?

Premier League owners – Who are the richest?

What is the TV football blackout law in the UK?

Premier League prize money: How much can each term earn?

What happens if a manager gets booked or sent off?

How much do Premier League referees get paid?

How many substitutions can Premier League teams make this season and how do the intervals work?

What is the offside rule in football, and how to explain it?

How will VAR work in the Premier League this season?

Why aren’t Premier League players taking the knee every weekend?

The Golden Boot has been shared on six occasions in history, including this latest campaign.

Spurs superstar Son Heung-Min matched Salah's tally to earn the gong himself for the first time.

Salah went into the final day one goal ahead of Son, but the South Korean forward scored a brace in the 5-0 win at Norwich, while Salah's one strike meant the two ended the season on level terms.

Most read in Football


Red Devils beat Liverpool, Antony deal AGREED, De Jong FINAL OFFER


Cristiano Ronaldo 'left mum in tears' during 'phone call about teen son's phone'


Keane left bemused after Stormzy gatecrashes Sky Sports after Man Utd's win


Sky apologise as Ten Hag celebrates stunning Liverpool win with X-rated interview

The 2018/19 campaign saw the prize split three ways as Salah, team-mate Sadio Mane and Arsenal's Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang all netted 23 times.

That was only the second time in history the award had been shared three ways after Dwight Yorke, Michael Owen and Jimmy Floyd Hasselbaink all scored 18 goals in 1998/99.


Incidentally, 18 goals is the lowest tally in Prem history that has been enough to win the Golden Boot.

Dion Dublin and Chris Sutton both also scored 18 times to claim the prize in 1996/97.

Meanwhile, Andy Cole and Alan Shearer's 34 goals in 1993/94 and 1994/95 respectively is the most in a single Prem season.

Although on both of those occasions a campaign lasted 42 games, whereas now it is 38.

Salah's incredible 32 strikes in his debut term for the Reds remains the highest-scoring Prem season in the 38-game era.

    Source: Read Full Article