The Sun

GEORGE FORD will step off the bench to make his Autumn Nations Cup debut against Ireland.

Boss Eddie Jones has stuck with a midfield of Henry Slade and Ollie Lawrence – restricting the urge to partner fit-again fly-half Ford with Owen Farrell from the off.


Centre Jonathan Joseph has won his fitness battle and he plays out of position on the wing, again, in a back-three alongside Elliot Daly and Jonny May.

In the pack Jones has gone back to the tired and tested front row of Mako Vunipola, Jamie George and Kyle Sinckler, with Joe Launchbury partnering Maro Itoje at lock.

The back row also has a familiar feel as Tom Curry, Sam Underhill and Billy Vunipola will be unleashed at Twickenham, – with Ben Youngs at scrum-half.

Jones said: “I’ve picked the strongest team possible for the most important game of our season.

“We have the highest respect for the Ireland and their coach Andy Farrell. They’ve had good preparation with two wins and a dominant display against Wales, and we will need to be at our best on Saturday.

“We’ve trained well this week, we’re expecting a tough, physical game against Ireland and we’ve reflected that in our sessions. We’ll look to lift our performance even higher and are looking forward to a really good game of rugby.”
England v Ireland is live on Amazon Prime and Channel 4.

15. Elliot Daly (Saracens, 44 caps)
14. Jonathan Joseph (Bath Rugby, 52 caps)
13. Ollie Lawrence (Worcester Warriors, 2 caps)
12. Henry Slade (Exeter Chiefs, 31 caps)
11. Jonny May (Gloucester Rugby, 58 caps)
10. Owen Farrell (c) (Saracens, 85 caps)
9. Ben Youngs (Leicester Tigers, 101 caps)
1. Mako Vunipola (Saracens, 61 caps)
2. Jamie George (Saracens, 51 caps)
3. Kyle Sinckler (Bristol Bears, 37 caps)
4. Maro Itoje (Saracens, 40 caps)
5. Joe Launchbury (Wasps, 66 caps)
6. Tom Curry (Sale Sharks, 25 caps)
7. Sam Underhill (Bath Rugby, 19 caps)
8. Billy Vunipola (Saracens, 53 caps)

16. Tom Dunn (Bath Rugby, 2 caps)
17. Ellis Genge (Leicester Tigers, 20 caps)
18. Will Stuart (Bath Rugby, 5 caps)
19. Jonny Hill (Exeter Chiefs, 1 cap)
20. Ben Earl (Bristol Bears, 5 caps)
21. Dan Robson (Wasps, 4 caps)
22. George Ford (Leicester Tigers, 69 caps)
23. Max Malins (Bristol Bears, 1 cap)








Source: Read Full Article