Which areas are now in Tier 3 of the new lockdown system?

REGIONS across England have been placed under new coronavirus local lockdown restrictions, known as Tiers.

The new measures, first introduced by Boris Johnson on October 12, have been categorised in tiers of one to three, with three being the highest – here are all the areas under the highest tier, known as Tier 3.

⚠️ Read our coronavirus live blog for the latest news & updates

What are the areas under Tier Three lockdown restrictions?

Areas under Tier Three restrictions are:

Liverpool City Region

  • Liverpool
  • Knowsley
  • Wirral
  • St Helens
  • Sefton
  • Halton


  • Lancaster
  • Wyre
  • Ribble Valley
  • Pendle
  • Blackpool
  • Preston
  • Hyndburn
  • Fylde
  • South Ribble
  • Chorley
  • West Lancashire
  • Blackburn Darwen
  • Rossendale
  • Burnley

Are any areas moving into Tier Three?

On October 17, Lancashire was moved to the highest Covid alert level after Downing Street and local leaders finally hashed out a deal with after days of stalemate.

Manchester could be plunged into Tier Three although tense crunch talks with Downing Street have so far resulted in an angry stalemate as both sides continue to fight over a deal.

North East council leaders have met and have agreed that they will oppose the government's plans to put the region into Tier 3 restrictions.


What are the Tier Three restrictions?

Tier Three has the most serious measures – including a closure of pubs and bars and a ban on overnight stays outside the home.

However, restaurants and "food-based" pubs can remain open and you're allowed to order an alcoholic drink as long as it is with a "substantial meal".

Casinos, bookmakers and gyms are also shut.

Local politicians will decide whether businesses in the personal care, entertainment, sports and leisure should remain open – like beauty salons and sports.

Non-essential shops, schools, colleges and universities can remain open.

Non-essential travel is advised against, as well as travelling outside the area in which the restrictions have been imposed.

Mr Johnson said: "The exact restrictions at this level, Very High, will be worked out with local leaders, along with tailored packages of support."

The move will come as another blow to the hospitality industry with a 10pm curfew already in place.

When will Tier Three lockdown restrictions come into force?

Restrictions in the Liverpool City Region came into force at midnight on Wednesday October 14.

The rules in Lancashire were enforced on Saturday, October 17.

On Monday, October 12, Prime Minister Boris Johnson said: "From Wednesday, local authorities in the Liverpool City Region will move to the Very High alert level.

"In addition to pubs and bars we have agreed with Liverpool City mayor Steve Rotheram that gyms, leisure centres, betting shops, adult gaming centres and casinos will close."

How long will Tier Three lockdown restrictions last?

The measures will be reviewed every four weeks, but this does not necessarily mean they will be in place for a specific amount of time.

The restrictions will be eased depending on the current data.

The PM said: "Areas within the Very High Alert category will be reviewed every four weeks and nowhere will be shut down indefinitely."

It was insinuated some of the restrictions could be in place for six months.


Source: Read Full Article